More and more people are discovering the benefits of a plant-based diet and are deciding to make the big switch.
Now it’s easier than ever; even in supermarkets we can find special sections where it will not be difficult for us to find food for our new diet. On pages like La Piba Vegeta, vegetarian recipe blogwe can find simple dishes to prepare, with which we will not miss our previous diet.
Depending on the type of diet we follow, different classification terms appear. Throughout this article, we will see the most common terms.
What is a Vegan?
A vegan, in general, is a person who does not consume animal products; it goes from the clothes they buy to the food they eat.
We don’t often talk so much about a vegan diet a sofa lifestyle. And it is that vegans condemn any type of animal abuse: this means that not only do they not consume meat, but they will not use any element that has its origin in animals. For example, they will not use leather belts or shoes, drugs or derivative products.
They are also against places where animals are exploited, such as a zoo, circus, horse racing, etc.
They are very aware of the impact of farming on the environment (massive use of soil resources, increase in the greenhouse effect, accumulation of waste in the seas or rivers, etc.).
As for honey, they generally do not consume it. However, an exception is usually made because it is an ingredient found in the cosmetics industry and supposedly the bees do not suffer when it is generated.
What is a vegetarian?
A vegetarian is a person who follows a diet based on vegetable food (Vegetables, fruits, seeds, cereals or nuts will be included).
The main difference with a vegan is that in the diet of a vegetarian you can find foods derived from animals, such as eggs or dairy products. Only meat, fish and derivatives are excluded.
However, keep in mind that there are different vegetarian notes.
One of the most popular is the ovo vegetarians, which are those who eliminate milk and dairy products from the diet. The lacto-vegetarians they follow a diet in which the egg is eliminated.
Each individual may have their own reasons for following a vegetarian diet; for example, it is common to follow this route to transition to a vegan diet, to eliminate all animal products from your diet. And it is that going directly from a traditional diet to a vegan diet is very complicated
What is a flexitarian?
A third term that is also interesting to know is that of flexitarian. As we can deduce from this name, it is closely related to the flexibility.
This includes people who usually have a vegetarian diet, but, depending on the occasion, they may also eat fish, meat, or animal products.
Flexitarians include those who do not eat meat or fish on a regular basis. It could also be considered as an intermediate step between people who want to switch to a vegetarian diet, such as the intermediate step between a vegetarian diet and a vegan diet.
Flexitarians can consume animals without offense or guilt.
Interestingly, many people are flexitarians and may not know it.
What are the differences between vegan, vegetarian and flexitarian?
These types of diets have important differences.
- the flexitarianism it could be a kind of starting point, as a way to get to vegetarianism and, from there, to veganism.
- the vegetarianism It includes the consumption of foods that are not of animal origin, although it admits derivatives.
- the veganism it is more of a way of life than just a diet, as it is the group with the most ethical implications. Those who want to become vegan must take into account not only the food they eat, but also the products they use on a daily basis (such as clothing or creams).
Regarding diet: it is normal to wonder if following these diets is safe for your health, or if restricting certain foods could lead to significant problems. It’s best to consult a doctor or nutritionist so they can tell you the best way to change your diet. This way, you can avoid deficiencies that could cause serious health problems.